Full steam ahead

Model from Maui Ziggy

Model from Maui Ziggy

When I meet a model, I go browsing through their portfolio and see what they’ve been subjected to. If they’ve got great, muscular features, chances are they have shirtless beach shots or sporty images. If they have exotic looks, they are dressed in exotic clothes and dropped in an exotic background, playing the part they were dealt.

I believe the only way we can grow and develop is to challenge others, as well as ourselves. That’s why I like to go the polar opposite of what a model’s meant to play. Muscular men are dressed into fitted suits; Delicate females portray strong female roles. This challenges both the model and me to diversify ourselves and grow from the opportunity.

Creating a theme
When I first saw model Ziggy, I saw the potential to do something really different. As you may know by now, I have an affinity for bygone eras, so I immediately knew I wanted to do something in the 40’s or 50’s. I racked my brain trying to figure out what I could do with what I had.

I went through my costume closet and paired different hats with suits from the 50’s, different ties — I walked around the house with a sea captain’s hat on my head, hoping I would get an idea for a theme if I stared at it in the mirror long enough.

In a flash of inspiration, I recalled a construction hat I had and that led me to think about a construction theme.

too cliche, I thought to myself. So, I modified the theme to be more specific. It was the industrial age, so I liked the idea of a factory worker who was building bombs for the war or just working with steel beams. The idea was perfect!

A day after, the perfect location came in the form of exposed plumbing alongside a community recreation center. Walking by, you’d never guess that these boring, rusted pipes could stand in as a backdrop for a vintage photo shoot.

This set of photos will always be one of my proudest accomplishments simply for the fact that I was able to recreate a time period only two blocks away from my house, with very little time and a lot of creativity.

