My Chinatown Community

This weekend was an amazing Chinese New Year’s festival. It’s incredible that I live right in the heart of it all in downtown Chinatown. I’ll be posting photos from the lion dances and festivities soon, but in the meanwhile I wanted to share these:

Today I took my assistant Chris on a little photowalk to brush up on our composition and storytelling skills. We walked around my very picturesque neighborhood and found some interesting vignettes. If you’re ever in Hawaii, I highly recommend not only visiting Chinatown, but exploring every nook and cranny. A lot of unexpected surprises await you around every corner. I’m honored to call this my community!

Also: are any local photographers looking to participate in a monthly photowalk around my hood? e-mail me: cheyne@firebirdphoto.com

