Runway Risks

I recently got the awesome opportunity to shoot for the Hawaii Fashion & Hawaii RED Magazine runway show as an exclusive photographer. While my contemporaries Ashley Smith, Jonas Maon and Tracy Chan got really great, well-lit portraits, I decided to be brave and experimental.

I shot with a slow shutter using my Lensbaby and focused on the motion and excitement of the runway. I wanted to convey the energy and edge of each line. After the runway show was done, I did more experimental shots using my stroboscopic lights, capturing the outfits in motion as the models walked back and forth for me. It was a risky set of choices, but looking at the shots, I think they paid off. Enjoy!

Blog-runway3
Blog-runway
Blog-runway4
Blog-runway2
Blog-runway5
Blog-runway8
Blog-runway7
Blog-runway6

