4 Things I Love About San Francisco


I just got back from a whirlwind trip to San Francisco. In just under 48 hours, I got to see and experience a lot of the city. Here are four things I absolutely love about San Francisco:

1. Chinatown

I’ve seen some sad chinatowns across the US and even in other countries and while the Honolulu Chinatown (where I currently live) holds a special place in my heart, I’d go as far to say that the San Francisco Chinatown is by far my most favorite! I am already looking forward to my next visit to it! See more photos from Chinatown on my personal blog.

2. Public Art

I am a huge supporter of public art, it brings a community together in a magical way. San Francisco has lots of great public art, some are tucked away in smaller communities, but all are on display for everyone to see. What I thought was interesting was that the only people drawn to these works were tourists like myself; locals seemed to pass by them without pause. Hopefully it makes you think twice about what kind of beauty you may be missing in your own community. Look closer.

The Wish Tree in Downtown

The tiled staircase

3. Diverse Distractions

There is an endless amount of things to do in San Francisco. From amazing sandwiches at Ike’s Place to the Cartoon Art Museum, you could do a different activity every day and still not have done it all! One advantage to a bigger city like San Francisco (versus Hawaii) is that quirky, niche shops and restaurants have a better chance of surviving — praise the small businesses of San Francisco!

Behold, Ike’s!

The Cartoon Art Museum

And last, but certainly not least:

4. Friends

I love all my friends in all the states, but my friends in San Francisco are always willing to play tourist with me. I am thankful for their company and guidance in the city and beyond. Sometimes they even let me crash at their place, but they always know how to make me feel welcome. As a bonus, they’re always fun to photograph too!

SF, Me and Robee nomming away!

So there you have it, some of the reasons I love San Francisco. I’ll definitely be back and I’ll definitely have more to add to this list!

